IIDEA announces the finalists of the Video Game Student Awards

LAN-Gate, IIDEA: solidarietà ai gestori, no allarmismi thumbnail

The numerous initiatives of IIDEA continue, the association that represents the video game industry in Italy, in support of the Italian video game sector. Among these also Video Game Student Awards, the first edition of an initiative that aims to reward young students who are passionate about gaming. Specifically, the Awards are born with the aim of enhance the work of experimentation and creation of video games by students and female studentswhether they are gathered in informal teams or organized in the form of an enterprise.

After examining numerous video game prototypes, the various dedicated juries selected three finalists for each category. The winners will be revealed on October 7, at the PRESS START event dedicated to aspiring professionals in the video game industry. PRESS START will take place at the Leonardo da Vinci National Science and Technology Museum in Milan.

Video Game Student Awards: here are the finalists of the various categories

The three categories – Fresco Award, Luna Award and Strano Award – will each award a cash prize of € 2,000. Each category has its own unique jury.

  • Fresco Award
    Features: Rewards the video game that stands out for its artistic style, game mechanics, controls or any element that differentiates it from mainstream genres or video games.
    Jury composed of: David Gallo (One O One Games), Fabio Pochet (Ubisoft Milan), Fabio Respighi (Nacon Studio Milan), Alessandro Cetrulo (Milestone) and Ascari.
    Finalist projects: 11 Years Ago by Red32, Dino Path Trail by Void Pointer and Unearthed di RED Team
  • Luna Award
    Features: Rewards the game that has the most solid foundations to become a potential commercial success.
    Jury composed of: Valerio Di Donato (34BigThings), Marco Ponte (Nacon Studio Milan), Michele Caletti (Milestone), Riccardo Stucchi (Ubisoft Milan) and Samuele Perseo (Reply Game Studios)
    Finalist projects: 11 Years Ago by Red32, Dino Path Trail di Void Pointer e  Memories Remain by Botte Piccola
  • Strange Awards
    Features: the title says it all. Reward a video game that offers something totally different from classic standards or a particularly crazy idea.
    Jury composed of: Selvaggia Salvati (Ubisoft Milan), Andrea Basilio (Milestone), Giuseppe Enrico Franchi (34BigThings), Katrin Ann Orbeta (Mash & Co.) and Luigi Di Guida (dpstudios)
    Finalist projects: Dirty Paws at SpaceDuck Studio, Keybound the Keyboys and Kill PID the Dead Code Games.

The panels and the Video Game Student Awards ceremony will be broadcast on the Twitch channel dedicated to PRESS START. The panels will start at 10:30 on 7 October, while the award ceremony will take place at 17:15.