Formula 1: Verstappen wins the Abu Dhabi GP and the World Championship

Verstappen vince il GP di Abu Dhabi e il Mondiale di Formula 1: Hamilton secondo thumbnail

With his twentieth career victory, Max Verstappen graduated for the first time Formula 1 world champion thanks to a pass on the last lap.

Formula 1: Verstappen and that last overtaking on the last lap

Someone, indeed something, had predicted it: Max Verstappen wins the Formula 1 World Championship, thanks to a pass on the rival Hamilton right on the last lap of the highly anticipated GP in Abu Dhabi. On the lowest step of the podium we find the Ferrari of Sainz, while Leclerc he had to settle for tenth position. Instead, they do not finish the race Raikkonen – thus ending his illustrious career in Formula 1 – Russel, Giovinazzi, Latifi e Perez.

For Verstappen this is the twentieth victory i Career, the tenth this year and the second in the Abu Dhabi GP. But there is something even more historical: it is the first time that a Dutchman has won a World Cup.

Bitter second place for Hamilton who, after having been in the lead for practically the whole race, had to give way in the confusing final. In fact, after the safety car entered – following the accident of Latifi – Red Bull opts for a tire change: at the restart Verstappen hooks Hamilton and overtakes him, putting an end to an incredible World Championship. Moreover, historical courses and appeals, Hamilton won the 2008 world championship just with an overtaking on the last lap, and fate, you know, sometimes makes the rounds.

Right away the definitive classification of the Abu Dhabi GP:

1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)

2. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

3. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)

4. Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri)

5. Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri)

6. Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)

7. Lando Norris (Red Bull)

8. Fernando Alonso (Alpine)

9. Esteban Ocon (Alpine)

10. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)

11. Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin)

12. Daniel Ricciardo (McLanre)

13. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)

14. Michael Schumacher (Haas)

Rit. Sergio Perez (Red Bull)

Rit. Nicholas Latifi (Williams)

Delay Antonio Giovinazzi (Alfa Romeo)

Rit. George Russell (Williams)

Rit. Kimi Raikkonen (Alfa Romeo)