Hyundai Motorsport ottiene un  secondo posto al Rally dell’Acropoli thumbnail

Hyundai Motorsport takes second place at the Acropolis Rally

Hyundai Motorsport took second place at Rally of the Acropolis, ninth round of the 2021 World Rally, the team’s first ever participation in the iconic event. Ott Tanak e Martin Jarveoja they sealed second place on the final day by finishing 42.1 seconds behind the winner Kalle Rovanpera. The Estonian couple have been in contention for the podium since day one, winning a special stage on Friday morning. In total, the crew achieved three stage wins by signing the third podium of the 2021 season (after winning the Arctic Rally and third in Kenya).

Hyundai Motorsport takes second place in the Acropolis Rally, ninth round of the 2021 World Rally

Mondiale Rally 2021 - Hyundai Motorsport

Hyundai Motorsport took a podium finish at the Acropolis Rally thanks to the second place of Ott Tanak and Martin Järveoja, their third top 3 result of the season.

Dani Sordo and Candido Carrera, in their first WRC event, they completed the rally in fourth place, scoring points for the constructors’ classification. Thierry Neuville and Martijn Wydaeghe they compromised the chances of getting a good result on Friday after power steering problems that left them behind in the standings. The Belgians fought bravely for the rest of the weekend, climbing up to eighth overall.

After this result, Hyundai Motorsport sees the gap in the constructors standings widen, remaining in second place and 57 points from the top. Neuville is third in the drivers’ standings with 130 points, Tanak fifth with 106.

The Team Principal Andrea Adamo said: “I can’t deny it was a frustrating weekend. Unfortunately, from time to time we have had a repetition of the same problems that upsets me. I have to say that all three crews did a fantastic job, so my thanks go out to them. As Ott said, I also thank our weather team, Marion and Hannes, who did a fantastic job this weekend in some treacherous conditions. Rallies are all about teamwork and all of our unsung heroes play such an important role. “

The next rally

The World Rally will head on the high-speed dirt roads of the Rally of Finland for the tenth round of the season, scheduled from 1 to 3 October.

Final classification – Acropolis Rally

  • K. Rovanperä / J. Halttunen (Toyota Yaris WRC) 3h28’24.6
  • O. Tänak / M. Järveoja (Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC) +42.1
  • S. Ogier / J. Ingrassia (Toyota Yaris WRC) +1: 11.3
  • D. Sordo / C. Carrera (Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC) +3:01.0
  • G. Greensmith / C. Patterson (Ford Fiesta WRC) +5:45.0
  • E. Evans / S. Martin (Toyota Yaris WRC) +6:42.7
  • A. Fourmaux / R. Jamoul (Ford Fiesta WRC) +6:54.4
  • T. Neuville / M. Wydaeghe (Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC) +8:41.1
  • A. Mikkelsen / E. Edmondson (Škoda Fabia Evo) +9: 02.5
  • M. Bulacia / M. Der Ohannesian (Škoda Fabia Evo) +9: 19.2
  • World Rally 2021 – Drivers classification

  • S. Ogier 180
  • E. Evans 136
  • T. Neuville 130
  • K. Rovanperä 129
  • O. Tänak 106
  • T. Katsuta 66
  • C. Breen 60
  • G. Greensmith 44
  • D. Sordo 43
  • A. Fourmaux 36
  • World Rally 2021 – Constructors’ classification

  • Toyota Gazoo Racing World Rally Team 397
  • Hyundai Shell Mobis World Rally Team 340
  • M-Sport Ford World Rally Team 153
  • Hyundai 2C Competition 44
  • John Vassallo is a versatile writer who covers two fascinating realms: Automobiles and Electronics. With a deep knowledge and passion for both industries, John brings you the latest updates, trends, and insights in these dynamic fields. From the latest car models, automotive innovations, and advancements in electric and autonomous technologies, to cutting-edge electronics, gadgets, and emerging tech trends, John's articles provide comprehensive coverage to keep you informed.